New York Deli (the best sandwich shop in South Wales no less…)

I first bumped into Harriet, the owner of the New York Deli when I was shooting the Garlands/Rules of Play portraits, my very first portrait shoot. Ian from Garlands told me that once I’d met Harriet, the rest would fall into place because she is considered to be a ringleader for the Arcades.

And it’s easy to see why. I spent just an hour or so with Harriet, chatting about the Arcades in general, the shop itself and a variety of other things and learned so much, so I can only imagine what you could glean after a much more extended period. The New York Deli has been in Cardiff since 1990, after Harriet and a friend had a sudden flash of inspiration that there was nothing quite like it around here.

Originally from America’s East Coast, Harriet has lived in Wales for 30 years (and there’s no sign of her accent disappearing yet…) and is still, after almost 21 years (the Deli will be 21 in April) as unwavingly passionate with a never say die attitude as ever.

It’s a relatively new decision to keep the Deli open on a Sunday, as, if you walk around you’ll notice that a large amount of the other shops are closed. Harriet believes this to be a big mistake when you’re trying to compete with St David’s, which of course is open all hours. It’s hard to know who to blame here, you can understand shop owners needing a day off, but at the same time, Sunday is a big shopping day so it does seem foolish to remain closed.

Harriet has tried to convince as many of the shops to open on Sundays for a while, to varying degrees. While at certain times of year it works (Christmas for example), today a lot of them were indeed closed and it does give the arcades less of a buzz than a Saturday, which is a shame.

What really fires Harriet up, along with a lot of the other owners of course, is St David’s 2. Understandably frustrated with the amount of press the behemoth that St David’s attracts, it’s also becoming increasingly frustrating for me to hear certain, surprising, things that even as a Cardiff resident I wasn’t aware of.

For instance, Harriet told me, the huge John Lewis store, frequently hailed as Cardiff’s saviour during the recession and permanently packed out with customers, is enjoying a 20-year rent free grace period. 20 YEARS. And what’s more, she claims, they have absolutely no commitment to stay after those two decades have lapsed. That’s a HUGE, HUGE amount of space with one of its biggest overheads eliminated – is it any wonder it can boast massive profits?

It seems clear to me that Cardiff Council really aren’t doing enough to promote this jewel in the heart of our city. Where are the signposts pointing out the Arcades? You’ll find plenty for St David’s, but nothing for the Arcades. Outside the city, traffic signs direct you to, of course, St David’s, and once you’re there, they intend you to stay there.

Of course, the Arcades are privately owned properties, so perhaps it’s not the council’s problem to make sure the footfall is good, BUT, considering that they are all Grade 2 listed buildings, should all of the shops be forced to closed, we will be left with a huge area of disused space that would be pretty much an embarassment to the city.

There also could do with being a LOT more media coverage for the Arcades. Why aren’t local papers shouting from the rooftops about this asset? Harriet checks the papers frequently and says the arcades are lucky to get a story every few weeks, whereas virtually every Saturday there are several on St David’s. With “being a bit different”, “shopping locally” and so on being very much in vogue right now, it seems that the local, and national, media are missing a trick here. More to the point, why don’t Visit Cardiff, or the Welsh tourism board do a bit more?

I don’t know the answers to any of these questions, maybe nobody does, but I should probably get off the soapbox now before this post becomes more depressing than it needs to be!

Also in the shop today were Alex and Dan who kindly also agreed to pose for portraits for me. Dan protested that he wasn’t “very good” at portraits, to which Harriet chirped in that he was a very good sandwich maker… which is pretty lucky considering the location.

One of the most famous items on the New York Deli’s menu is The Hoagie. I learned the history of the Hoagie today too, which is a charming story. Harriet explained that the Hoagie finds its origins in Philadelphia, from the workers who used to take giant sandwiches intended to last a whole day, to Hoag Island, which could only be accessed when tide was out. Hence the name hoagies. The story is a bit similar to how the Cornish pasty evolved, and it was fascinating for me (as a dedicated food obsessive) to learn a bit of food history.

Harriet told me probably a million things more, and it was all brilliant, but I’ve either forgotten it or I’m worried about boring you with my writing, it probably isn’t doing what she actually said any justice anyway, but I think it’s fair to say I’m sure I’ll be popping in whenever I can for a quick natter (and update on Arcade politics).

I genuinely don’t believe you’ll find anyone more committed and more passionate about the Arcades than Harriet. Not only this but she’s friendly, up for a chat and dedicated to her loyal customers. You could do a lot worse than to pop in for a cup of tea, a famous Hoagie and watch the goings on inside the Cafe. Only a couple of weeks ago the New York Deli was crowned best sandwich shop in South Wales, so make sure you get down there now to sample the delights.

Enjoy the pictures, as always, any feedback is very gratefully received… as ever there are more in the New York Deli Flickr set if you want to carry on viewing.

Here’s to the next 20 years…

EDIT: Since this post was published I have been contacted by the PR firm responsible for St David’s 2. They would like me to point out that Saint David’s vehemently denies both the 20 year lease period claim, and also the further detail made in the comment below.

According to her, to attract John Lewis, the people in charge of St David’s 2 offered them a 10 year rent free period, along with the promise that 75% of the shops would be filled by opening day. As that approached and only about 25% were full, JL threatened to pull out, so they they said, have 20 years and no commitment to stay afterwards.  

I have amended my second comment to “As that approached and the 75% figure was not achieved,” as I can’t remember with 100% accuracy whether 25% is the figure Harriet quoted.

Hannah Waldram from Guardian Cardiff, along with some student journalists, are investigating the original claims made by Harriet – I will post any updates as soon as I can get hold of them, but in the interests of fairness, I have left Harriet’s original claims in with the response from St David’s. I want to make it clear, that these claims have not come from me, I am just reporting on someone else’s belief and opinions.

Dan…
Alex…

19 thoughts on “New York Deli (the best sandwich shop in South Wales no less…)

  1. Pingback: Twitted by gavomatic57

  2. 20 years???? Give me an empty shop for 20 years and I’d make it AMAZING. So not fair. What happened to supporting small businesses? It shouldn’t just be your everyday person like us promoting the Arcades.

    • Yes, when you hear it, it’s quite staggering isn’t it?

      Harriet tells me that pretty much all of the shops were given free rent, but mostly it was “we give you 1 year rent free, and you HAVE to stay for at least another year paying rent.”

      According to her, to attract John Lewis, the people in charge of St David’s 2 offered them a 10 year rent free period, along with the promise that 75% of the shops would be filled by opening day. As that approached and the 75% figure wasn’t acheived, JL threatened to pull out, so they they said, have 20 years and no commitment to stay afterwards.

      I doubt they will go anywhere after 20 years, but still, it’s not that much of a gamble for a huge organisation like that.

      A lot of the other empty sites in St David’s are given to companies for a 4 month rent free trial, but of course they tend to a look out of place because they don’t have any shop fittings etc.

      SUPPORT OUR ARCADES! I feel like starting a protest group… lol.

  3. I’ve been going to the Deli for more than 10 years now, I remember it in the old place across the road! I love going there, try to venture there once or twice a month (it’s a bit far for a quick dash from work…)

    Long may Harriet continue to bring us lots of hoagies, bagels and other goodies!

    • Yeah, she told me about the old place – she told me loads but remembering it/trying to fit it all in the post was a struggle… maybe I’ll do part 2 another day.

      If only I didn’t work in Bath I’d be in there all the time…

      Fool that I am I forgot to take any pictures of the food!!! D’oh… another trip I feel is needed asap…

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention New York Deli (the best sandwich shop in South Wales no less…) « Cardiff Arcades Project -- Topsy.com

  5. Thats just nuts, didnt the worlds oldest record shop (Spillers) have to relocate because it couldnt keep up with increases in rent?
    I can understand supporting the local economy from both perspectives… but be fair!

    • Indeed -obviously having the massive John Lewis and St David’s is undeniably an attraction for many people, but for institutions such as Spiller’s, you’d think they could be helped out too – they’re a big tourist attraction too!

  6. An interesting and well-illustrated post.

    I’d love the Arcades to be around for another 100 years, but for that to happen they need to compete harder with the big guys. Here’s a few ways:

    1 Sunday opening – as you suggest, Amy, the chain shops open on Sunday so the Arcade shops need to as well. Those that do not open let down down the others by making the Arcades overall a less attractive place to shop.

    2 Toilets – Arcades are great for quirky cafes and sandwich bars, but many of the cafes don’t have toilets or baby changing facilities. In 2011! If it is not practical to install toilets in each cafe, perhaps a small Gents and Ladies could be installed (sensitively) in each arcade.

    3 If shops feel they do not get enough press coverage, it is up to them come up with more interesting stories and pursue journalists.

    4 Shops could perhaps also lobby for better signage and promotion in and beyond Cardiff.

    • Thankyou Douglas, glad you found it so.

      I completely agree with Sunday opening. It’s great that some of the shops are open, but I really wish more were. Stepping aside from if I was doing this project, I can’t visit the Arcades in the week because I’m at work so that does only leave Saturday free if the shops aren’t open, which is a bit restricting. Harriet is really, really pushing for more to open though so hopefully she will succeed. If more people asked for it, it might help though.

      I hadn’t thought about the toilets issue for me (not really a problem for me as my flat is across the road(!) but yes I can see that being a bit of a pain, perhaps one of the empty shops could be converted?

      You’re right about pursuing stories. While my reception has so far been good, I have had a couple of instances of people either not replying to me, or downright refusing to be involved. Fair enough, but WHY? Here I am offering free, positive publicity and they’re not courting it.

      Shops have apparently spent a lot of time trying to get the council to put signposts up, but haven’t had much luck. I’m told they have a “it’s private property therefore not our problem” attitude….

      Amy

  7. Pingback: Twitstorm in a teacup… a timeline of events surrounding the John Lewis/St David’s free-lease claim « Cardiff Arcades Project

  8. Pingback: Arcades Birthday – taking the project too far? « Cardiff Arcades Project

  9. Pingback: Catapult Records: “music’s better under the Tories.” « Cardiff Arcades Project

  10. Pingback: Cardiff Arcades Project on S4C « Cardiff Arcades Project

  11. Pingback: Cover of Cardiff Life and inside spread! « Cardiff Arcades Project

  12. Really interested in the claim that St David’s 2 had to up its rent free to John Lewis. Do let us know if you hear anything.
    I spoke to the property director of St David’s 2 on opening day and she said 50 out of the 100 shops were open on opening day, a further 30 would be open by Christmas which would leave 30% to let. Our post about it is below.

    http://www.estatesgazette.com/blogs/focus/2009/10/st-davids-2-cardiff-opens.html

    Don’t know if you’re interested but we also did a podcast that day with the head of John Lewis in Cardiff, the head of leasing at St David’s2 and the owner of Wally’s deli (in both St David’s and the arcade) – all talking about trading and the empty stores in the centre

    http://estatesgazette.podomatic.com/entry/2009-10-26T05_52_06-07_00

  13. Pingback: Cardiff Arcades Project | halfblog.net

Leave a Reply

