Hipstamatic coolness from Royal and Morgan Arcades

The phrase goes that the best camera is the one you’ve got with you. The iPhone 3GS is not known for its photographic prowess, but there’s no denying it’s pretty much always with me.

Like millions of other people I’m addicted to the Hipstamatic app. While I know some people are fed of it, I think for this project the photos work well because the subject matter matches the treatment, as in it’s old-looking, just like the arcades.

I quite often find myself wandering around the Royal and Morgan arcades on my way back from the train station in the evening looking for ideas and enjoying the solitude of it – since I’ve stopped taking my DSLR in with me every day (it was killing my back and I wasn’t always using it) – most of the time I only have my iPhone with me.

I feel like it frees me up and allows me to look for unusual shapes, quirky window displays and other things that I might not spot while I’m obsessing over the DSLR’s settings. Not only do I love the snaps that come out of it, I can use these as a visual notebook so I can return at a later date with my “proper” camera.

Anyway, I thought I’d share a few of the ones I took the other night, they’re taken with various settings on the app, so if you’re a Hipsta-lover and want to know which particular settings, please do let me know and I will furnish you with the appropriate information.

What do you think about using a phone for this kind of photography? Good or bad? Let me know in the comments below – as always I’m very keen for feedback!

2 thoughts on “Hipstamatic coolness from Royal and Morgan Arcades

  1. Hmmmm,

    I love the project and all the photos you’ve taken so far!

    I do love these Hipmatic and Vignette type apps for these smart phones – but the only one i actually like is the 686 one looking up at the roof feature. Obviously without seeing the same photos without any treatment I can’t make my mind up whether its an improvement or not!

    There’s a time and place for treatments like this and I try and do it on quite boring subjects hence they make the photo a bit more interesting.
    I played about with my HTC Desire and an app called Vignette and posted a few quick shots here:-
    http://djleekee.wordpress.com/2010/04/17/photos-htc-desire-camera-testing/

    That was from my first day testing with it – so was just going through all the settings and see what each did. My photos were all pretty boring but i feel as some of them were quite subtle didnt make the pics any worse!

    I know you were after feedback and love all the stuff you do – but I feel these apps dont add anything to the great work you are already doing.

    Hope that helps?

    Lee
    http://www.djleekee.co.uk

    • Hi Lee,

      Thanks for the feedback.

      I know it’s difficult without seeing what an untreated photo would look like, but trust me, in low light, the iPhone 3GS is a miserable performer, these would look awful (in my opinion).

      Sometimes it’s nice for me to leave the DSLR behind so I can just look for stuff that catches my eye, spend 5 seconds taking a photo of it then move on.

      Then again I’m a sucker for this kind of treatment, I find it makes every photo look “cool” without really trying very hard – good for lazy photographers like me!

      I hope that these posts that use the Hipstamatic app complement the ones where I use my “proper” camera and obviously I’d never dream of doing a full shoot with one – although that could of course be interesting…

      Have you seen the other posts I’ve done with the Hipstamatic app?

      Thanks for taking the time out to write the long post! I had a look at your photos, I think they’re great – again though it’s glaringly obvious that the HTC’s camera is streaks ahead! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Amy

Leave a Reply

