Spillers Saturday Sessions No.10: Sweet Baboo

I’ve not taken photographs at the last couple of Spillers Saturday sessions – last weekend I missed it, and the week before it just didn’t “feel” right for some reason – there were other photographers there taking lots of shots, and sometimes when that happens I feel like I’m probably one too many and shy away from the action. But happily, this week I managed to get a good spot near the front and got my confidence back to take a few of the great Sweet Baboo.

There was quite a crowd in this week, certainly one of the busiest sessions I’ve seen and Steve was great and charming, and had the audience pretty rapt from what I can tell. I have to cheekily confess that one of my favourite parts was when Steve was so puzzled by someone taking a photo of his bare feet (not me, I add) that he called them “weird”. That made me chuckle, I guess photographers are a pretty weird bunch, eh?

Anyway, before this turns into another post entirely – enjoy the pictures, and if you like the music, don’t forget you can buy it at Spillers Records 🙂










6 thoughts on “Spillers Saturday Sessions No.10: Sweet Baboo

  1. Good pictures Amy. I find the ‘in-your-face’ photographer at these concerts a bit annoying. He detracts from the performance by getting in the way to much. He was practically poking his camera in the face of Meilir the other week. I am sure such extreme intrusiveness is not necessary, as you demonstrate here.

    • Thankyou Stephen,

      I was always told the rule “3 songs and you’re out” when it came to music photography – the rest of the time the performer should be left in peace and the audience should be allowed to continue to watch the performance without being distracted by someone else.

      In these cases, with the shows being so short, if you want to be intrusive, I think you should really stick to the first song and then retire.

      As for me, it may not yield such “exciting” shots, but in this case, I’m not a professional photogapher paid to produce some artwork for a magazine, I’m as much a punter as the rest of the people there. I go to see the performer and listen to the music and if I find myself in a good spot to take some photos I usually do. By the way, I’ve found that spot to be stage right or stage left, at the front but not IN front/obstructing anyone.

      You just need a decently sized focal length (the maximum I used here was 60mm on my APS-C format camera, so probably closer to 100mm on a full-frame) and you can shoot from a ‘safe’ distance.

      At the end of the day, I’m also very conscious of the fact that people have turned up to see the performer, not someone with a camera.

      What does everyone else think?

  2. Pingback: Free music courtesy of Spillers Records! « Cardiff Arcades Project

  3. Yeah – I’m inclined to agree that he’s a wee bit too intrusive : I tried bringing it up before Meilir’s set because H Hawkline actually got a bit put off (forgot words while camera was in his face) the wk b4. Simon insisted that he got the say so to photograph but the thing is, people don’t really know how close he gets until it’s happening and too late! I’ll be honest : It has made me feel very uncomfortable to watch him because it’s so distracting and stressful to watch him encroach on the performers space.

    Erm … it’s a tough one – I’ve been to enough gigs to know he’s stepping WAY over the personal boundary but he’s got balls to not give a fuck and his pictures are pretty good i’d say. . . put it this way …. If I had that camera as close in my face as some people have I’d belt him and the camera.

    That said : he OBVIOUSLY loves the sessions and the opportunity to photograph (as you do Amy!) them so I do have respect for that. . . and he’s a nice guy so this ain’t a personal dig or nowt!!

    There you go Amy – my TEN PENCE worth. KEEP up the good work and hope to see you Saturday, not many more left now!! xx

    • I very much agree with all of this.

      He is very brave to behave like this, and I wonder if he’s just taking the opportunity because there aren’t many gigs like this where you can literally walk on stage without anybody stopping you. Good on you for being so brave I say. The only problem is when that starts to become a hindrance to other people’s enjoyment and in the case of the H Hawkline gig making him forget his words. At that point you stop “documenting” and start changing what’s happening.

      I guess that’s why they have the old adage “3 songs and you’re out”. If we all knew (performers included) that he was going to be doing his crazy photography for the first song we’d all have a laugh at how silly he looked (not having a go, you have to look silly to get the best shots sometimes, god knows I’ve found myself in some odd places at times) and then he’d be gone and we could get back to the serious business of watching the music. Personally, and maybe I’m just more concerned than others being a fellow photographer, I find myself wondering when he’s going to come back and wondering what he’ll do next.

      Yes, he’s getting some interesting shots, as you would expect using a wide-angle lens for close-up portraits like that, but they could even be done AFTER the gig has finished, with the performers permission.

      TOTALLY TOTALLY TOTALLY do not want to step on anyone else’s creativity or art – I’d hate to have someone tell me what to do, but I like to follow the lead of other music professionals I know and respect and keep your distance and be an observer, not part of the routine.

  4. Pingback: Spillers Saturday Sessions: The Highlights « Cardiff Arcades Project

Leave a Reply

